Skip to content

Imparja Television

Broadcaster spanning six states and territories


The headquarters of Imparja Television, Stott Terrace, Alice Springs

'Imparja was established in 1987 after the Central Australian Aboriginal Media Association (CAAMA) applied and won the Remote Commercial Television Service (RCTS) license for Central Australia. Renovations for the studio and office complex began late 1987 in Wills House on Leichhardt Terrace in Alice Springs. After all the television production and transmission equipment was installed, a total of 5 staff members moved in. Imparja started with 8 retransmission sites at Ceduna, Coober Pedy, Leigh Creek and Woomera in South Australia and Alice Springs, Tennant Creek, Katherine and Bathurst Island in the Northern Territory. Imparja’s first test program was telecast on 02 January 1988, bringing a delighted outback population the live broadcast of the Australia Vs Sri Lanka Test Cricket match. Regular transmissions began two weeks later reaching a total audience of 62,000 people.

Imparja’s broadcast area is now over 3.6 million square kilometres, spanning six states and territories – Northern Territory, South Australia, Tasmania, Queensland, New South Wales and Victoria with an estimated over one million resident viewers. Our service is also watched by approximately three million tourists who visit Outback Australia each year and 200,000 viewers in terrestrial black spots.'